DNREC’s Division of Parks & Recreation will hold a live auction for low digit surf fishing tags at 2:30 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 22. This year’s auction will feature a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to bid on surf fishing tag #1. The exclusive auction will take place during the second annual “Booo-B-Que by the Sea” family BBQ competition at Delaware Seashore State Pak.
The live auction will also include a select number of other low digit surf tag plates. The following tag numbers will be sold at the live auction on Oct. 22: #5, #11, #200, #400 and #500.
Choice of tags 31 – 99 (with the exception of previously purchased tags).
Choice of tags 105 – 499 (with the exception of previously purchased tags).
Choice of tags 501-599
Choice of tags 1001 – 5000
Choice of tags 5001 – 9999
We have received many requests for the sale of higher numbered tags,” said Delaware State Parks Director Ray Bivens. “For the first time, collectors will be able to bid on four digit tags to match their four digit license plates.”
The black and white tags have a unique, vintage look with raised letters. Bidding will open at $250. The winning bidder for each tag will receive a certificate of authenticity. Once purchased, owners will retain the tag as long as they have a valid surf fishing permit.
Since the first Low Digit Surf Tag Auction held in the fall of 2015, 92 tags have been sold. Revenue from these sales totaled $317,097, with an average of $3,447 per tag. All revenue raised from the program directly benefits Delaware State Parks and surf fishing beach access.
“The fact of raising over $300,000 with selling less than 100 tags solidifies the addition of surf tags into Delaware’s long standing low digit tag marketplace,” said Aaron Dunphy, the owner of LowDigitTags.com, a website that specializes in selling low digit Delaware license plates.
“Delawareans love low-digit license plates and surf fishing tags,” said Bivens. “With the overwhelmingly positive response from our first two auctions, we are thrilled to offer the coveted Tag #1 this year. We anticipate a lot of excitement over this tag.”
State law requires that any tag numbered 200 and under must purchased by a Delaware resident. Payment for all items must be made in full on sale day in cash, cashier’s check, company check or credit card. Bidders must register and pay a refundable deposit of $200 onsite the day of the auction, cash preferred.