We've removed all ads from Outdoor News Daily but will continue to offer our popular OUTDOOR GEAR SEARCH for those looking for quality outdoor gear from trusted merchants.
Subscribe Via EmailOur daily news delivered directly to your inbox!

2019 Illinois Spring Trout Fishing Season Opens April 6

SPRINGFIELD, IL – The 2019 Illinois Spring Trout Fishing Season opens on Saturday, April 6 at 58 ponds, lakes and streams throughout the state, with four new sites added for this spring. Baumann Lake in Cherry Valley, Weldon Springs Lake in DeWitt County, Casey Park Pond in Casey, and Belk Lake in Wood River have been added for the first time for spring stockings.

The Illinois Catchable Trout Program is funded by those who use the program through the sale of Inland Trout Stamps. The IDNR stocks more than 80,000 rainbow trout each year in bodies of water where trout fishing is permitted during the spring season and an additional 80,000 trout for the fall season.

No trout may be taken from any of the stocked sites from March 15 until the spring trout season opens at 5 a.m. on April 6. Anyone attempting to take (harvest) trout before the legal harvest season opening will be issued citations.

All anglers must have a fishing license and an Inland Trout Stamp, unless they are under the age of 16, blind or disabled, or are an Illinois resident on leave from active duty in the Armed Forces. The daily catch limit for each angler is five trout.

For more information on trout seasons and other Illinois fishing opportunities, check the website at

Illinois fishing licenses and Inland Trout Stamps are available at DNR Direct license and permit locations, including many bait shops, sporting goods stores and other retail outlets. For a location near you, check the IDNR website at this link:

Fishing licenses and trout stamps can also be purchased by using a credit card through DNR Direct online via the IDNR website at, or by calling DNR Direct toll-free at 1-888-6PERMIT (1-888-673-7648).

For more information about all site regulations, anglers should contact individual sites that will be stocked with catchable-size trout. Not all sites open at 5 a.m. on opening day. Anglers are reminded to check the opening time of their favorite sites prior to the opening date. The 58 locations that will be open for spring trout season are listed below:

2019 Illinois Spring Trout Locations

North — Boone County — Mill Race Ponds, Belvidere
North — Bureau County — Hennepin Canal Parkway
North — Cook County — Wolf Lake at William W. Powers State Recreation Area, Chicago
North — Cook County — Green Lake in Calumet City, Cook County Forest Preserve District
North — Cook County — Axehead Lake, Cook County Forest Preserve District
North — Cook County — Belleau Lake, Cook County Forest Preserve District
North — Cook County — Sag Quarry East, Cook County Forest Preserve District
North — Cook County — Horsetail Lake, Cook County Forest Preserve District
North — DuPage County — Silver Lake, DuPage County Forest Preserve District
North — DuPage County — Pickerel Lake, DuPage County Forest Preserve District
North — DuPage County— Grove Lake, DuPage County Forest Preserve District
North — Jo Daviess County — Apple River, Apple River State Park
North — Kankakee County — Bird Park Quarry, Kankakee
North — Kankakee County — Rock Creek, Kankakee River State Park
North — Kendall County — Big Lake, Silver Springs State Fish and Wildlife Area
North — Lake County — Banana Lake, Lake County Forest Preserve District
North — Lake County — Sand Lake, Illinois Beach State Park
North — LaSalle County — Illinois and Michigan Canal Lock 14, LaSalle
North — LaSalle County — Lake Mendota, Village of Mendota
North — McHenry County — Lake Atwood, McHenry County Conservation District
North — McHenry County — Piscasaw Creek, McHenry County Conservation District
North — Ogle County — Pine Creek, White Pines Forest State Park
North — Rock Island County— Prospect Park, Moline
North — Stephenson — Waddams Creek, Lake Le-Aqua-Na State Recreation Area
North — Stephenson — Yellow Creek in Krape Park, Freeport
North — Whiteside County — Centennial Park Pond, Rock Falls
North — Will County — Lake Milliken, Des Plaines State Fish and Wildlife Area
North — Winnebago County — Four Lakes, Winnebago County Forest Preserve District
North — Winnebago County — Baumann Lake, Cherry Valley (New site for Spring 2019)

Central — Adams County — Siloam Springs State Park Lake
Central — Cass County — Gridley Lake, Jim Edgar Panther Creek SFWA
Central — Champaign County — Lake of the Woods, Champaign Co. Forest Preserve Dist.
Central — Christian County — Manners Park Pond, Taylorville Park District
Central — Clark County — Casey Park Pond, Casey (New site for 2019)
Central — Coles County — Eastern Illinois University Campus Pond, Charleston
Central — DeWitt County — Weldon Springs Lake, Weldon Springs State Park (New site for Spring 2019)
Central — Hancock County — Horton Lake, Nauvoo State Park
Central — Macon County — Sportsman’s Club Pond, Macon County Conservation District
Central — McLean County — Miller Park Lake, Bloomington
Central — Morgan County — Morgan Lake at Nichols Park, Jacksonville
Central — Moultrie County — Wyman Lake, Sullivan
Central — Pike County — King Park Pond, Pittsfield
Central — Sangamon County — Southwind Park, Springfield
Central — Sangamon County — IDOT Lake, Springfield
Central — Sangamon County — Washington Park Pond, Springfield
Central — Shelby County — Forest Park Lagoon, Shelbyville
Central — Vermilion County — Clear Lake, Kickapoo State Recreation Area

South — Jefferson County — Mount Vernon Game Farm Pond
South — Johnson County — Ferne Clyffe State Park Lake
South — Madison County — Belk Park Pond, Wood River (New site for Spring 2019)
South — Marion County — Boston Pond, Stephen A. Forbes State Recreation Area
South — Massac County — Fairgrounds Pond, Fort Massac State Park
South — Randolph County — Derby Lake, Sparta (World Shooting and Recreational Complex)
South — St. Clair County — Frank Holten State Park Main Lake
South — St. Clair County — Jones Park Lake, East St. Louis
South — St. Clair County — Willow Lake at Peabody River King State Fish and Wildlife Area
South — Wabash County — Beall Woods Lake, Beall Woods State Park
South — Wayne County — Sam Dale Trout Pond, Sam Dale Lake State Fish and Wildlife Area