More Than 1,000 Students to Compete in Illinois State Archery Tournament

SPRINGFIELD, IL – The Illinois Department of Natural Resources (IDNR) will host the National Archery in the Schools Program (NASP) Illinois State Tournament on Friday, April 6 and Saturday, April 7 at the Orr Building on the Illinois State Fairgrounds in Springfield. More than 1,050 archers from more than 30 schools have registered to compete.

The first shooting flight begins at 8 a.m. and the last flight will conclude at 7 p.m. both days of the tournament. Awards will be presented after the conclusion of the last flight. Top finishers will qualify for the NASP National Tournament to be held May 11-13 in Louisville, Kentucky.

“I want to wish all of the schools and competitors that are competing in this year’s Illinois State Tournament the very best of luck,” said IDNR Director Wayne Rosenthal. “I am very pleased and encouraged to see such strong interest in this important program. I encourage everyone to come out to the fairgrounds in Springfield to watch these talented and disciplined student athletes in action.”

Students will compete in three divisions, including Elementary (Grades 4-5), Middle School (Grades 6-8) and High School (Grades 9-12). Members of the Illinois Archery Association will provide volunteer support for the event. Last year’s state champions were from Centennial High School of Champaign (Grades 9-12), Jefferson Middle School of Champaign (Grades 6-8), and Next Generation School of Champaign (Grades 4-5).

The NASP is a nationally acclaimed youth archery program that implements a curriculum-based archery education program into public and private schools through physical education classes. The program started in Kentucky in 2002, and has expanded to include thousands of participating schools in five countries. Illinois was one of the first 10 states registered in the program.

Visit the IDNR YouTube Channel for a video of a past Illinois State Archery Tournament:

Qualifying schools for the 2018 NASP Illinois State Tournament include:

Adlai E. Stevenson High School, Lincolnshire
Armstrong Ellis Grade School
Athens High School
Canton High School
Canton Ingersoll Middle School
Centennial High School, Champaign
Central High School, Champaign
Cuba High School
Danville High School
East Dubuque High School
Ewing Grade School
Gifford Grade School
Georgetown-Ridge Farm High School
Georgetown-Ridge Farm Middle School
Georgetown-Ridge Farm Elementary School
Jefferson Middle School, Champaign
Lindblom, Chicago
Metamora St. Mary’s
Metamora Township High School
Next Generation School, Champaign
Oswego High School
Phoenix Military Academy, Chicago
Pinckneyville High School
Pinckneyville Junior High School
Roberto Clemente High School, Chicago
Schlarman Academy, Danville
Schurz High School Jr. ROTC, Chicago
St. Bruno, Pinckneyville
St. John’s Lutheran School, Mattoon
Tremont High School