Twenty-nine Arkansans win elk permits

JASPER – Twenty-nine Arkansans will have the hunt of a lifetime this fall as they chase elk on public land in The Natural State. Their names were chosen during the 21st Annual Buffalo River Elk Festival in Jasper last weekend.

Representatives from the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission oversaw the drawings for this year’s elk hunt. Permits were drawn from a squirrel cage in front of an anxious crowd throughout the day.

Twenty-six of the permits were drawn from applications submitted online in May. Three other permits were selected from special applications submitted on site during the festival.

Hunters are allowed to choose their weapons from archery, including crossbows, muzzleloaders, modern rifles, modern shotguns and handguns.

All public land hunts occur on the Buffalo National River, Gene Rush Wildlife Management Area and Bearcat Hollow Wildlife Management Area. Hunters are assigned to specific zones within these public lands. Public land permit holders are required to attend an orientation before the hunt and will be notified of the time and location.

Arkansas 2018 elk hunt permit winners:

Oct. 1-5:
Zone 1 Either sex (onsite draw): Jeremy Jensen, Bella Vista
Zone 1 Antlerless: John Spencer, London
Zone 2 Antlerless (onsite draw): Walter Lloyd, N. Little Rock
Zone 3 Antlerless (onsite draw): Seven Fore, Powhatan
Zone 4 Antlerless: Bradley Kohler, Fort Smith

Oct. 27-Nov. 2 (Youth Hunt):
Zone 2 Youth either sex: Zane Yacks, Harrison
Zone 3 Youth either sex: Caden Parrson, Fordyce

Oct. 29-Nov. 2:
Zone 1 Either sex: James Younger, Paragould
Zone 1 Antlerless: Jason Price, Hoxie
Zone 1 Antlerless: Edwin Levay, Conway
Zone 2 Either sex:Wesley Meyers, Harrison
Zone 2 Antlerless: Dawn Born-Roaf, N. Little Rock
Zone 2 Antlerless: Regina Ellis, Mountain Home
Zone 2 Antlerless: Garvin Gibbins, Harrison
Zone 2 Antlerless: Earnest Malloy, Manila
Zone 2 Antlerless: Tim Kizer, Fayetteville
Zone 3 Either sex: Robert Brashears, Rogers
Zone 3 Antlerless: Patrick Joseph, Bentonville
Zone 3 Antlerless: Derek Stroot, Flippin
Zone 3 Antlerless: Ronald Burks, Lonoke
Zone 3 Antlerless: Kelsi Owen, Greenbrier
Zone 3 Antlerless: Jared Walker, Howell
Zone 4 Either sex: Nicholas Nolan, Little Rock
Zone 4 Either sex: Larry Bobbitt, Gentry
Zone 4 Antlerless: Johnny Schrader, Fayetteville
Zone 4 Antlerless: Jeremy Mosley, Beebe
Zone 4 Antlerless: William Collins, Batesville
Zone 4 Antlerless: Clarence Graham, Lowell
Zone 4 Antlerless: John Coates, Fort Smith